How To Get Your Marriage License
Getting Your Marriage License to Marry in Hawaii! Your marriage license is one of the most important things you need to obtain before your wedding and although it sounds like a big effort it's actually pretty straightforward and easy to do.
As wedding planners and coordinators we can help you and advise you along the way to make sure you are 100% prepared for your wedding in Hawaii.
We advise that you submit your information and payment online and then we will give you the information you need to book your appointment to appear in person when in Hawaii.
You must bring $65 in cash to pay for the Marriage License, as only cash will be accepted by the Marriage License Agent.
If either of you are 18 years of age or younger a birth certificate is required, under 18 years of age also requires written consent from parents, a legal guardian or a family court.
If either of you has been married before, you will be asked the exact date (i.e. month, day, year), County and State of the divorce.
If either of you has been divorced in the last month you will need to bring a copy of your final divorce decree.
What does it cost? The Marriage License cost $65.00. If you pay online you can pay with Credit/Debit card, if you choose to pay in person at your appointment you must bring cash. We advise to fill out your application and pay online before you leave for Hawaii.
Who needs to attend? Both parties who are getting married in Hawaii need and are required to attend the appointment to collect the marriage license. The Marriage License WILL NOT be issued if both parties do not attend.
What do we need to bring? If you are traveling from Mainland USA a State ID or Driver License is acceptable. For all international couples, a Passport will be fine.
How do we make the appointment in Hawaii? When you book your wedding package with us we provide you with the agent on your island. Either you can call to make your appointment or we can do it for you.
When should we make the appointment? We always suggest making your Marriage License appointment as soon as you can after arriving in Hawaii. This way it's one less thing to think about and should there be any issues, it at least allows time to sort them out.
How long does the Marriage License last? 30 days, no exceptions. You must marry in Hawaii within 30 days of the license being issued.